Gonzaga Sports

Information for the 2020-2021 School Year
We have created this web page to share information about Gonzaga Sports for the 2020-2021 school year. Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the WCAC has suspended all athletic competition until January. While our teams cannot compete, they are still meeting often virtually to train and build community. We are also looking to add team workouts in the near future. For more information, please contact one of the head coaches below.
 
As more information becomes available this fall, we will update this page. If you have any questions about a particular sport, please refer to each sport’s webpage, or contact the head coach. Thank you for your interest in Gonzaga Sports, and Go Gonzaga!
Attention parents: In order for your son to participate in sports at Gonzaga he must have a completed health record on file with the school. This record can be found and filled out by logging into Gonzaga’s website and clicking on the Magnus Health link.
Baseball
Head Coach: Chad Carroll, ccarroll@gonzaga.org
Webpage: www.Gonzaga.org/Baseball
Tryout Date: TBD
 
Incoming Freshman interested in trying out for baseball next spring please contact Coach Carroll so that he can get your contact information.
 
Basketball
Head Coach: Steve Turner, sturner@gonzaga.org
Tryout Date:  TBD
Crew
Head Coach:  Andy Bacas,
abacas@gonzaga.org
Information for Freshmen: Gonzaga's Crew program usually holds a five-day Learn-To-Row (LTR) Camp in late July open to all incoming freshmen. This year however, due to the coronavirus, LTR cannot be held in its traditional form. Instead, the coaching staff will host a Zoom meeting on Tuesday, August 4 at 8 PM open to all Gonzaga Freshmen interested in learning more about our program. Click here for more informationFall Freshman Rowing after school is TBD. (Freshman will also have an opportunity to join in the Winter or Spring).

Information for Varsity: 
Varsity tryouts are TBD. Coach Bacas will communicate with student-athletes about summer rowing and conditioning opportunities.  E-mail Coach Bacas if you have any questions.
 
Cross Country
Head Coach: John Ausema,
jausema@gonzaga.org
Start Date:  TBD
 
New students are welcome to join the cross country team.  There are no tryouts, but athletes need to be willing to come to practice every day and demonstrate a good work ethic. Optional summer training runs are available on summer evenings and weekends (visit our webpage for more information). Families new to cross country are encouraged to learn more about the sport by clicking here.
 
Football
Head Coach: Randy Trivers, 
rtrivers@gonzaga.org
Varsity and JV Tryouts: TBD
Freshman Tryouts: TBD
 
Golf
Head Coach: Mike Hanagan, mhanagan@gonzaga.org 
No Summer Camp
Tryouts: TBD
 
Hockey
Head Coach: Sammy Gerdano, sgerdano@gonzaga.org 
Tryouts begin: TBD

Captains skates are typically on Fridays at Ft. Dupont beginning in early October and continue until tryouts. This year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we will be updating everyone when and how we will proceed when we are able. If you are new to the program, please email Jeana Norton jknorton11@gmail.com or gonzagahockey411@gmail.com to be included in all correspondence.
 
Lacrosse
Head Coach: Casey O'Neill, coneill@gonzaga.org
Tryouts begin: TBD
All freshman parents with sons trying out for lacrosse, please email gonzagachslacrosse@gmail.com and we will include you on our mailing list.
 
 
Rugby
Head Coach: Peter Baggetta, pbaggetta@gonzaga.org
Varsity Tryout date: TBD
JV Tryout date: TBD
Freshman Tryout Date:  TBD.  No Cuts for Freshmen - all Freshmen, experienced and no experience welcome.

For information about summer and off-season workouts, please contact Coach Baggetta.
 
Swimming and Diving
Head Coach: Kevin Wagman, kwagman@gonzaga.org
No Summer Camp
Start Date: TBD

Quick Facts:
  • Winter Sport
  • Practices are held every weekday after school at The Model School on the campus of Gallaudet University
  • Open team with no cuts. All skill levels are welcome!
  • Incoming Freshman interested in Swim and Dive please contact Coach Wagman so that he can get your contact information
 
Soccer
Head Coach: Scott Waller, swaller@gonzaga.org
Varsity and JV Tryout date: TBD
Freshman Tryout date: TBD
 
Squash
Head Coach: TBD
Facility: Sport & Health Capitol Hill 
 
Tryout Dates: TBD
Varsity will compete in Nationals
 
Tennis
Head Coach: Randy de Guzman, randy_deg@yahoo.com 
No Summer Camp
Tryouts begin: TBD

While there are no official camps, competitive players will be playing consistently and/or gaining match experience through USTA tournaments. Any incoming freshman or returning students who are interested in trying out for tennis in the spring please contact Head Coach Randy de Guzman.
 
Track
Head Coach: Alvin Maddox, amaddox@gonzaga.org
No Summer Camp
Non-Cut Sport
Indoor Start date: TBD
Outdoor Start Date: TBD
 
Water Polo
Head Coach: Torey Ortmayer, torin.ortmayer@gmail.com 
 
Tryout Dates: TBD 
Dryland at Gonzaga 
Pool-Takoma Aquatic Center
 
Wrestling
Head Coach: Milton Yates, myates@gonzaga.org
Webpage: www.Gonzaga.org/Wrestling
Start Date: TBD

New to wrestling? Beginners are welcome! We will be having an Incoming Freshmen Family Orientation on Monday, August 3 from 7-8 PM on Zoom. Link is available here
Meeting ID: 718 2152 9496
Password: LOVE
 
Strength & Conditioning
Head Coach: Marcus Taylor, mtaylor@gonzaga.org
2020-2021 team training schedule: TBD 
Educating young men in the Jesuit tradition since 1821