Two Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that two Gonzaga students were named National Merit Finalists in the 2020 competition. Congratulations to Jack Garland and Joshua Pfefferkorn on this prestigious academic honor.

In addition, 16 students were named Commended Scholars. Congratulations to the following students:

Benjamin T. Baldwin
James Barbour
Adriano A. Bayz
Joseph E. Connors
Declan B. Deegan
Luke M. Francese
Doane F. Kiechel
Ryan M. Luetjen
Gavin W. McElhennon
Ian F. Miller
Thomas J. Policicchio
Willard Sapp
Benjamin H. Stone
Stephen M. Thiessen
Carson D. Volanth
Adam J. Wojciak

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation honors America’s scholastic champions and encourages the pursuit of academic excellence. According to the organization, about 1.5 million students from about 21,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Less than one percent go on to be named finalists.

Congratulations to all!
Educating young men in the Jesuit tradition since 1821